1858 - ?

Anglia Ruskin University

Anglia Ruskin University is a public university in East Anglia. It has 39,400 students worldwide and has campuses in Cambridge, Chelmsford and Peterborough, it also shares campuses with the College of West Anglia in King's Lynn, Wisbech and Cambridge. It has its origins in the Cambridge School of Art, founded by William John Beamont in 1858 and opened by the art critic, patron, and philanthropist John Ruskin (1819-1900). The school became Anglia Polytechnic after the Cambridgeshire College of Arts and Technology and the Essex Institute of Higher Education joined. It became a university in 1992 and in 2005 was renamed Anglia Ruskin University (ARU). It has been listed in the Times Higher Education’s (THE) World University Rankings, being named as one of the top 350 institutions in the world and joint 38th best in the UK and the higher education strategy consulting firm Firetail recognises Anglia Ruskin University as one of the 20 'rising stars' in global Higher Education. It is the only UK university to feature in the top twenty. A tutor for over twenty years was Diana Mckenna another tutors incluce Jim Nind and Caroline Wendling, and Suffolk artists who studied at Anglia Ruskin include Frances Beasley, Paul Cope, Julie Farrow, Caroline Gold, Rebecca Moss Guyver, Marilyn Jackson, Jane Jennison, Becky Munting, Lorna Murphy, Rob Ramsden, Tony Redman, Mary Reynolds, Ray Sinclair and Jevan Math Watkins.

Over the years, several colleges and institutes have become part of ARU. They include the Cambridgeshire College of Arts and Technology (CCAT) and the Essex Institute of Higher Education (formerly the Chelmer Institute – itself formed from the Mid-Essex Technical College and the Brentwood College of Education). At first, these colleges combined to become Anglia Polytechnic, and then Anglia Polytechnic University in 1992. A partnership University is the College of West Anglia.