1838 - ?

The first School of Art in Newcastle was established in 1838. It subsequently became part of Armstrong College, followed by being part of King's College, Durham University, and then it became part of the newly-established University of Newcastle upon Tyne in 1963. Throughout, it has maintained an excellent reputation as one of the UK's leading centres for art education. The first BA degree in Fine Art in the UK was awarded here in 1927. The art school also houses the Hatton Gallery, a world-renowned gallery which has one of the most iconic artworks of the 20th century in its collection, the Elterwater Merz Barn, the final work of the German Dadaist Kurt Schwitters. The art school was a key player in radical developments in art education in the 1950s and 1960s which led to the development of the course known as Basic Design and the subsequent revolution across art education in the UK. Newcastle is also particularly associated with the development of Pop Art in the UK, as outlined in the essay by Gill Hedley for the exhibition 'Pioneers of Pop', held in the Hatton Gallery. Many distinguished artists have come through Newcastle University and continue to do so, either as students or as teachers. The list includes Sir Lawrence Gowing, Richard Hamilton, Victor Pasmore, Roy Ascott, Sean Scully, Noel Forster, Susan Hiller, Mary Webb, Rita Donagh, Mali Morris, Sarah Pickstone and Phoebe Unwin.