? - ?

The University of the Arts has its origins in seven previously independent art, design, fashion and media colleges, which were brought together for administrative purposes to form the London Institute in 1986. They were St Martin's School of Art; Chelsea School of Art; the London College of Printing; the Central School of Arts and Design; Camberwell School of Arts & Crafts; the College for Distributive Trades; and the London College of Fashion. The colleges were originally established between the mid-nineteenth and the early twentieth century.