1965 - ?

Ikon Gallery

Ikon Gallery was first conceived of as a ‘gallery without walls’, a headquarters for a fluid artistic programme touring to non-art venues. In 1965 it took up residence in an octagonal glass-walled kiosk in Birmingham’s new Bullring precinct, adjacent to the Rotunda building. Supported from the beginning by Angus and Midge Skene, it challenged a conservative local art world. The four artists officially listed as the founders of Ikon were Jesse Bruton, Robert Groves, Sylvani Merilion and David Prentice, but were joined by several others in order to help develop and articulate the original vision which included Peter Berry, Trevor Denning, Dinah Prentice and John Salt. After several moves the gallery moved to its current site, the former Oozells Street Board School, in 1997 with the cost of the conversion partly funded by a grant from the National Lottery. The refurbishment work was designed by Levitt Bernstein, who reinstated the building's tower, which had been demolished during the 1960s, The Space Studio opened in December 1998. Ikon Gallery, 1 Oozells Square, Birmingham.
Website: https://www.ikon-gallery.org