1890 - ?

Wimbledon School of Art began as Wimbledon College of Art in 1890 when an art class was established for the Rutlish School for Boys in nearby Merton. Between 1904 and 1920 this was in the Wimbledon Technical Institute in Gladstone Road, and it became independent in 1930 and in 1940 moved to Merton Hall Road. Degree courses were established and later the University of Surrey accredited these courses. Wimbledon School of Art became part of the University of the Arts London in 2006 and was then renamed Wimbledon College of Art. Its fellow colleges include Camberwell School of Arts & Crafts, St Martin's School of Art, Chelsea School of Art, London College of Communication and London College of Fashion. Alumni and members of staff include Tessa Newcomb, Archibald Knox, Douglas Cooper, Chris Le Brun, Malvina Cheek, Maggi Hambling, Prunella Clough, Yolanda Sonnabend, Pauline Boty, Mick Rooney and William Brooker.