2007 - ?

The Society of East Anglian Watercolourists was inaugurated in 2007 with the help and guidance of the Royal Watercolour Society and their then President Richard Sorrell (born 24 September 1948) and adopted the title of the Society of East Anglian Watercolourists. Members are drawn from Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Norfolk, and Suffolk. The membership covers a wide range of abilities, including many professional painters and some who do not paint at all. It holds two exhibitions a year, one Member’s Exhibition and one Select Exhibition where an independent committee will have at least one member of the RWS on the panel along with two professional people from the world of the visual arts. There is the ‘President’s Award’ which is given by the President of the Royal Watercolour Society which guarantees the winning painting a place at the RWS Open Exhibition at the Bankside Gallery the following Spring. The exhibitions are held at the Edmund Gallery in Bury St Edmunds. The society runs one-day classes with tutors such as Richard Bawden, Charles Williams (born 1965), Olwen Jones, Thomas Plunkett (born 1972), Geoffrey Pimlott (born 1946) and others are drawn from the Royal Watercolour Society, the New English Art Club and from their own professional members.