? - ?

Northumbria University

Northumbria University, Newcastle has its origins in three Newcastle colleges i) Rutherford College of Technology, which was established by John Hunter Rutherford in 1877 and opened formally in 1894 by the then Duke of York, later King George V, ii) the College of Art & Industrial Design and iii) the Municipal College of Commerce. In 1969, the three colleges were amalgamated to form Newcastle Polytechnic which became the major regional centre for the training of teachers with the incorporation of the City College of Education in 1974 and the Northern Counties College of Education in 1976. In 1992, Newcastle Polytechnic was reconstituted as the new University of Northumbria with its official name, the University of Northumbria at Newcastle the name was simplified to Northumbria University in 2002.