1871 - ?

The Ruskin School of Art dates from 1871, when Victorian art critic and writer John Ruskin (1819-1900) first opened his School of Drawing, the School has enjoyed a variety of guises. As Oxford’s first Slade Professor, Ruskin intended to develop a course for the University leading to a degree in art. Equipped with a teaching collection of hundreds of watercolours, drawings and more than 400 prints, including works by Dürer, Tintoretto and Turner, the School was originally housed in the University Galleries, and continued its work in what became the Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology, finally moving to its current High Street site in 1975. Undergraduate degrees in Fine Art (BFA) were first awarded by the University of Oxford in 1981. A doctoral (DPhil) programme followed in 2006, and an intensive, one-year Masters of Fine Art (MFA) was added in 2015. In October 2015, the Ruskin opened a second Fine Art building to augment its High Street premises, in East Oxford's Bullingdon Road, on the site of a former warehouse and studio annex. Designed by Spratley Studios Architects, the building houses purpose-built, state-of-the-art facilities and studios, and won an RIBA South Award in 2016. The Ruskin enjoys vibrant relationships with Oxford’s Department of the History of Art, the School of Anatomy, the Department of Engineering Science, the Institute of Archaeology, the Ashmolean Museum, Pitt Rivers Museum, and many other parts of the University. In addition, connection with Modern Art Oxford has enabled Ruskin students to stage exhibitions, performances, and screenings in their galleries.