2007 - ?

The University of Suffolk was established in 2007 as University Campus Suffolk (UCS), founded as a collaboration between the University of East Anglia and the University of Essex. The university's current name was adopted after it was granted independence in 2016 by the Privy Council and was awarded university status. The University of Suffolk is spread over four campuses: a central hub in Ipswich and campuses located in Bury St Edmunds, Lowestoft, and Great Yarmouth in Norfolk. Suffolk was the largest English county that did not host a university and in 2003 Suffolk County Council investigated the possibility of establishing a university in the county. Following funding pledges from Ipswich Borough Council and Suffolk County Council in 2004 and backed by the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE) in 2005 and a grant from the East of England Development Agency in 2006, the University Campus Suffolk was launched on 1 August 2007 with its first students in September. The University Campus Suffolk did not have degree-awarding powers and its students received their degrees from either the University of East Anglia or the University of Essex. In November 2015 UCS was granted degree-awarding powers by the Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education and in 2016 it was awarded University status by the Privy Council when UCS was renamed The University of Suffolk and in August 2016 began awarding degrees in its own right. The University of Suffolk houses the East Contemporary Art Collection and the Waterfront Gallery.