1963 - ?

The University of East Anglia (UEA) was established in 1963 and is a public research university on a 320-acre campus west of Norwich city centre. The university is a leading member of Norwich Research Park which has one of Europe's largest concentrations of researchers in the fields of agriculture, genomics, health and the environment and is one of five BBSRC funded research campuses with thirty businesses, four independent research institutes, John Innes Centre, Quadram Institute, Earlham Institute, and The Sainsbury Laboratory and has a teaching hospital, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital, on site. The postgraduate Master of Arts in creative writing, founded by Sir Malcolm Bradbury and Sir Angus Wilson in 1970, is widely regarded as the most prestigious in the United Kingdom with admission to the programme being extremely competitive and the course having gone on to produce a number of distinguished authors. UEA alumni and faculty include three Nobel Prize winners, a co-discoverer of the Hepatitis C and Hepatitis D genomes as well as the small interfering RNA, a co-inventor of the Oxford–AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine, one President of the Royal Society, three Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences and forty-eight Fellows of the Royal Society.