1892 - ?

West Ham Technical Institute

In 1892 the County Borough of West Ham decided to establish a West Ham Technical Institute to serve the local community. The college provided courses in science, engineering and art, and established its own internal degree courses in science and engineering, which were ratified by the University of London. As demand for technical education grew throughout the 1930s and 1940s, Essex County Council created two further colleges South West Essex Technical College formerly Walthamstow School of Art and Dagenham, South East Essex Technical College. In 1970 these three colleges combined as a merger of higher education colleges, to create the North East London Polytechnic. In 1988 the North East London Polytechnic became a higher education institution and was renamed the Polytechnic of East London in 1989 and in 1992 became the University of East London. The University of East London consisted of the Barking Campus, which closed in 2006 and the Stratford Campus and in 1999 the Docklands Campus was opened. The university is a lead academic sponsor of Hackney University Technical College which opened in 2012, one of the first university technical colleges in England.