1898 - ?

The Pastel Society was founded in 1898, when George Frederick Watts was elected President, and their first exhibition was held in the Royal Institute in Piccadilly. Founder members and early exhibitors included Frank Brangwyn (1867-1956), Edgar Degas (1834-1917), Auguste Rodin (1840-1917), William Rothenstein (1872-1945) and Jame McNeill Whistler (1834-1903). In 1899 the annual exhibitions were held in Galleries of the Royal Institute of Painters in Water Colours and from 1926 held joint exhibitions with the Pencil Society. In 1970 the Society joined the Federation of British Artists (FBA), based at the Mall Galleries and in 1988 the Pastel Society amalgamated with the Pastel Society. Membership of The Society is granted through a strict assessment of technical skill, originality, innovation, enthusiasm, and a willingness to promote the objectives and activities of The Society.