1939 - ?

First Exhibition. The Arts Council of Great Britain 1950

Society of Mural Painters was operating in 1937 when Ivon Hitchens was elected to its membership, but its first and only exhibition took place in London in 1950. Artist members included Mary Adshead (1904-1995) who from 1953 through the 1960s acted as the society Secretary. Its first President was Augustus Edwin John (1878-1961) and other members included Rosalie Winifred Thurston, Francis John Clarence Hastings (1901-1990), Barbara Mildred Jones (1913-1978), Henry Richard Bird (1909-2000), Vanessa Bell (1879-1961), Kenneth Rowntree (1915-1997), Evelyn Mary Dunbar (1906-1960), Peter Midgley (1921-1991) and Laurence Scarfe (1914-1993).