1836 - ?

Senate House

The University of London was established by Royal Charter in 1836 for the public benefit and to promote access to higher education and pioneered distance learning across the globe. Established as a secular alternative to Oxford and Cambridge, the only two other English universities at the time, they became the first to explicitly exclude religious qualification as an entry requirement and were the first university to admit students regardless of their gender, race or religion, the first to admit women to degree programmes and, in 1865, the first to give students the opportunity to study wherever they are, providing access to higher education across the globe and in 1878 were the first UK university to award degrees to women. The 17 member institutions are treated as individual universities and are known as Recognised Bodies, with the authority to examine students and award them degrees of the university. Some member institutions also have the power to award their own degrees instead of those of the university.
Those which exercise that power include
Birkbeck, University of London
City, University of London was founded in 1894 and is a public research university in London. It joined the University of London as a constituent college in 2016. City is located in central London and organised into six schools which includes the City Law school, School of Health & Psychological Sciences, School of Policy & Global Affairs, School of Communication & Creativity, School of Science & Technology and Bayes Business School (formerly Cass).
Goldsmiths, University of London
King's College London
London Business School
London School of Economics and Political Science
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Queen Mary University of London
Royal Academy of Music
Royal Central School of Speech and Drama
Royal Holloway, University of London
Royal Veterinary College
SOAS, University of London
St George's, University of London
University College London