1880 - ?

Originally known as the Society of Painter-Etchers, the Royal Society of Painter-Printmakers was founded by Francis Seymour Haden in 1880 in reaction to the Royal Academy of Arts' reluctance to exhibit etchings and engravings. They received the Royal Charter from Queen Victoria in 1888 and became the Royal Society of Painter-Etchers. Although they changed the name in 1991 to embrace a broader range of printmaking practices, they have retained the abbreviation RE as both our identity and the qualifying letters that follow an elected member's name. Some of the eminent past members include Graham Sutherland (1903-1980), Stanley William Hayter (1901-1988), Edward Bawden, Julian Trevelyan (1910-1988) and Michael Rothenstein (1908-1993). They have an extremely proud history, but printmaking is a dynamic and protean pursuit, and the current membership contains some of the most innovative and creative artists working in every print-based medium.

Works by This Artist