1761 - 1823

James Conder

James Conder, was born at Mile End, London on 22 October 1761, youngest of seven sons of Revd John Conder (1714-1781) of Cambridgeshire, tutor at Homerton, and his wife Susan, daughter of John Flindell, leather merchant of Ipswich. Educated at the Dissenters’ School at Ware, Hertfordshire and under Unitarian minister Mr French and, together with his brother Joseph, left London in 1788 and took over the drapery business of James Vaughn at Southampton, however the following year, he came to Ipswich where his elder brother John, lived with the Flindells and who succeeded to the Flindells’ leather business, and took Dobson's linen & woollen, drapery business near the White Horse in Tavern Street, Ipswich which in 1790, he moved to the corner of the Fruit Market also in Tavern Street. He married at Ipswich on 1 January 1790, Mary Foster, third daughter of George Notcutt, haberdasher of Ipswich and had six children but only two, Mary Notcutt [later Nash] and James Notcutt Conder survived, another son William Gordon Conder, died on 13 November 1819, aged 24. He sold his drapery business in 1808 to Shepherd Ray and went into partnership with his sister-in-law Elizabeth Goddard, trading in the Butter Market, Ipswich as Goddard and Conder, haberdashers and snuffsellers. He built up an extensive numismatic collection and his series of provincial coins was probably unique, and he himself issuing several tokens advertising his drapery business. He died at Ipswich, after a short illness, on 22 March 1823 and was buried in the Tacket Street Meeting-house cemetery, his wife lived with their daughter Mary [Nash] in Wymondham, Norfolk where she died in 1836 and was buried beside her husband on 16 February. Two of his watercolours of the Cornhill, Ipswich are known from a sale by his daughter Elizabeth Smyth (nee Conder).