1761 - 1823

James Conder

James Conder was born at Mile End, London on 22 October 1761, youngest of the seven sons of Revd John Conder (1714-1781) of Cambridgeshire, tutor at Homerton College, and his wife Susan Flindell, daughter of John Flindell, leather merchant of Ipswich. James was educated at the Dissenters’ School at Ware, Hertfordshire and under Unitarian minister Mr French and, together with his brother Joseph, left London in 1788 and took over the drapery business of James Vaughn at Southampton, however the following year, he came to Ipswich where his elder brother John, lived with the Flindell's and who succeeded to the Flindell's’ leather business. Conder took Dobson's linen & woollen, drapery business near the White Horse in Tavern Street, Ipswich which in 1790, he moved to the corner of the Fruit Market also in Tavern Street. James married at Ipswich on 1 January 1790, Mary Foster Notcutt, third daughter of George Notcutt, haberdasher of Ipswich and had six children but only two, Mary Notcutt [later Nash] and James Notcutt Conder survived, another son William Gordon Conder, died on 13 November 1819, aged 24. James sold his drapery business in 1808 to Shepherd Ray and went into partnership with his sister-in-law Elizabeth Goddard, trading in the Butter Market, Ipswich as Goddard and Conder, haberdashers and snuff sellers. Conder built up an extensive numismatic collection and his series of provincial coins was unique, with he himself issuing several tokens advertising his drapery business. James Conder died at Ipswich, after a short illness, on 22 March 1823 and was buried in the Tacket Street Meeting-house cemetery, his wife lived with their daughter Mary [Nash] in Wymondham, Norfolk where she died on 16 February 1836 and was buried beside her husband. Two of his watercolours of the Cornhill, Ipswich are known from a sale by his daughter Elizabeth Smyth (nee Conder).